Posted by: reederwi | April 18, 2010

It starts with 195….

The goal I have set for myself is to see all of the Best Supporting Actress nominees and winners since the inception of the category in 1936. Since 1936, the year Gale Sondergaard won for her role in the film Anthony Adverse, a total of 72 women have won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar.  That means that there are a TON of women who have had the honor of just being nominated. 

After reviewing the list of films, I have 180 films featuring 195 performances yet to see.

Damn, that’s a lot.

After I see each film, I will share a brief description or some interesting history about the film.  Also, I will list the supporting actress’ name  and identify if she was a nominee or a winner for her role. I will also list a number after each name (counting down from 195) to keep track of the number of nominated actresses I have left to see. I have no time frame set for this challenge.  I also plan on seeing the films in random order.

Here we go.

Below is a great pic I found of the Oscar nominated supporting ladies from 2008.  If only Rosemarie DeWitt (“Rachel Getting Married“) would have been nominated like I had predicted.  Oh, well.

The 2008 Best Supporting Actress Nominees (from left: Marisa Tomei "The Wrestler", Amy Adams "Doubt", Penelope Cruz "Vicky Cristina Barcelona", Taraji P. Henson "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", and Viola Davis "Doubt"

Responses

  1. Like the changes. It’s a lot easier now to focus on the entries that first interest me and then move on to others and perhaps discover new movies and actresses.


Leave a Reply

Categories

